Panic attacks and supermarkets

It never crossed my mind that I could suffer from agoraphobia but, when you are given a proper diagnose, you look back and a lot of things start making sense.

Supermarkets are the worse. I go inside feeling fine but, once I start looking for the things I need, anxiety strikes. My thoughts start racing, I can’t focus, my vision starts getting blurry. All the colors, all the labels and shapes start mixing together. I then get really frustrated, supermarkets shouldn’t be that big of a deal, right?

The second place goes to beaches, specially when they’re empty. It must be the vastness of the sea and the wide extent of the sand, never ending. Last summer, on vacation, I just couldn’t rest. I would even break down and cry while everyone around me was relaxed and enjoying themselves.

With the end of finals, Summer is here. I hope the anxiety medication helps and I can finally relax. I need it, badly.

3 thoughts on “Panic attacks and supermarkets

    1. I’m on a mix of clomipramine, olanzapine and clonazepam. Not only because of agoraphobia but also because of severe anxiety (panic syndrome).

      Like

Leave a Reply

