Insomnia has its perks

Last night, after three hours of laying awake in bed, just after 5 am, I quit trying to fall asleep, my mind was racing, and I had to distract myself from the obsessive, crazy thoughts.

I opened my macbook and went on facebook to see who was online. T was. A guy I’ve been on a couple of dates with the last few weeks. By chance, really. He always goes to bed early, at least before I do.

I told him about my dilemma: I could not go to sleep because if I feel asleep at 6/7 am I would not wake up to be at uni on time (10 am), which I really had to because I could NOT EVER miss the presentation I had worked so hard on. I had decided not to sleep.

Then he suggested I’d go over to his place. He said he had a meeting at 10, so he would wake me up and drop me off at uni.

I was kind of desperate. It was either not sleeping at all or going to his house. I trust this guy. And I’m a bit crazy. So I called an Uber and I went.

A two-bedroom duplex, clean and modern, minimalistic, almost.

We went upstairs to the balcony. He had one of those outside fireplaces on and it was warm and we listened to music and smoked cigarettes and watched the sunrise. It was beautiful.

He took a picture:

Captura de ecrã 2016-06-03, às 01.24.35

We went down to the living room, I laid on the couch, my head against his lap, trying to get some sleep. He sat straight. We still couldn’t sleep, the sun was already shining bright through the blinds.

The bedroom seemed liked a better idea so we went. He laughed that I had brought pajamas. I laughed at his laugh. We laughed until 7 am at random things. I can remember him saying to me “I feel good next to you.”. I replied “I do, too.”. I can’t remember falling asleep.

I woke up 2 hours later, obviously tired, but feeling happy. He sat on the border of the bed as I pushed him out so he’d go in the shower. I was running late already. Our eyes locked. He leaned in and kissed me. A first kiss. Slow, sweet and soft.

I killed the presentation on 2 espressos and 2 hours of sleep.

Sometimes being an insomniac and being a little crazy is not that bad.

2 thoughts on “Insomnia has its perks

Leave a Reply

